ATP World Tour Finals

ATP World Tour Finals – Live Stream, Tennis Tournament, Nitto ATP Finals, ATP World Tour Finals 2017, ATP World Tour Finals Live Tennis, ATP Finals Info. The ATP Finals is the second highest tier of men’s tennis tournament after the four Grand Slam tournaments. A week-long event, the tournament is held annually each November at the Arena in London, United Kingdom. The ATP Finals are the season-ending championships of the Association of Tennis Professionals ATP World Tour and feature the top eight singles players and doubles teams of the ATP Rankings. The tournament was first held in 1970, although it had a different name at the time.

ATP World Tour Finals

ATP World Tour Finals

Nitto ATP Finals
London O2 Arena – London, England

Roger Federer holds the record for the most singles titles, with six, while Peter Fleming and John McEnroe hold the record with 7 titles in doubles. In the current tournament, winners are awarded up to 1500 rankings points; with each round-robin loss, 200 points are deducted from that amount.

ATP World Tour Finals

The event is the fourth evolution of a championship which began in 1970. It was originally known as the Masters Grand Prix and was part of the Grand Prix Tennis Circuit. It was organised by the International Lawn Tennis Federation (ILTF). It ran alongside the competing WCT Finals the season-ending championships for the rival World Championship Tennis Tour. The Masters was a year-end showpiece event between the best players on the men’s tour, but did not count for any world ranking points.

ATP World Tour Finals Live

ATP World Tour Finals the Association of Tennis Professionals (ATP) took over the running of the men’s tour and replaced the Masters with the ATP Tour World Championship. World ranking points were now at stake, with an undefeated champion earning the same number of points they would for winning one of the four Grand Slam events. The ITF, who continued to run the Grand Slam tournaments, created a rival year-end event known as the Grand Slam Cup, which was contested by the 16 players with the best records in Grand Slam competitions that year.

In December ATP World Tour Finals, the ATP and ITF agreed to discontinue the two separate events and create a new jointly-owned event called the Tennis Masters Cup. As with the Masters Grand Prix and the ATP Tour World Championships, the Tennis Masters Cup was contested by eight players. However, player who is ranked number eight in the ATP Champion’s Race world rankings does not have a guaranteed spot. If a player who wins one of the year’s Grand Slam events finishes the year ranked outside the top eight but still within the top 20, he is included in the Tennis Masters Cup instead of the eighth-ranked player. If two players outside the top eight win Grand Slam events, the higher placed player in the world rankings takes the final spot in the Tennis Masters Cup.

Unlike all other singles events on the men’s tour, the ATP Finals is not a straightforward knock-out tournament. Eight players are divided into two groups of four and play three round-robin matches each against the other players in their group. ATP World Tour Finals The two players with the best records in each group progress to the semifinals, with the winners meeting in the final to determine the champion. 2017 ATP World Tour Finals Though it is theoretically possible to advance to the semi finals of the tournament with two round robin losses no player in the history of the singles tournament has won the title after losing more than one round-robin match.

The tournament has traditionally been sponsored by the title sponsor of the tour; however, from ATP World Tour Finals the competition was non-sponsored, even though the singles portion of the event as part of the ATP tour was sponsored by IBM. In ATP World Tour Finals, the tournament gained Barclays PLC as title sponsor. Barclays confirmed in ATP World Tour Finals that they would not renew their sponsorship deal once it expires.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *